Divisions – Geosciences Award for Excellence in Student Research

Call for Applications

CUR’s Geoscience Division (GeoCUR) gives annual awards to full-time undergraduate students currently enrolled in a two-year or four-year educational institution engaging in research emphasizing the geosciences, such as geology, oceanography, atmospheric sciences, etc. These students must have been enrolled for two semesters at their current institution by the date of the award announcement in April.

The faculty mentor must be a member of GeoCUR, (free with enhanced institutional CUR membership). One award per department per academic year will be given to an outstanding full-time undergraduate student. The department will determine the criteria for the award and will make the selection. The online form must be completed by the faculty mentor by April 1 so that certificates may be processed and forwarded to the departments by end of May.

The award consists of a certificate. Awardees will be publicized on the CUR Geoscience Division website. We encourage faculty to take advantage of this program to recognize your students, only available to faculty members of GeoCUR.


The deadline to apply was April 1, 2024.


All CUR Award recipients are responsible for any and all applicable tax obligations associated with receipt of the award.

All students, faculty, mentors, organizations, and institutions honored with becoming a part of the CUR award recipient community, you have the professional and ethical responsibility to maintain the highest professional conduct standards and embody the CUR Code of Ethics for Undergraduate Research in your words, actions, and deeds. In addition, all participants are expected to abide by the CUR Code of Conduct. Expectations for awardees are to show courtesy and civility in both their personal and professional communications while forever representing CUR and the distinguished honor of the specific award rewarded. One must conduct oneself in a manner both professional and ethical.


Please direct questions to GeoSciences Division Chair Allison Schwartz.

Geosciences Award for Excellence in Student Research Recipients