CURDivisions_MCSWho are we?

Mathematical, Computing, and Statistical Sciences Division Chair: Haseeb KaziTrine University

The Mathematical, Computing and Statistical Sciences Division of the Council on Undergraduate Research supports research in mathematics, computer science, and associated disciplines of informatics, cybersecurity, data science, statistics, and actuarial science. To support these activities, the division provides networking opportunities and activities, as well as resources for faculty, mentors, and, students.

Division Activities


  • MCS Division Mentor Award (currently closed)
  • MCS Inclusivity Award
    • The CUR MCS Division award for will be awarded annually to a member who has shown excellence and sustainable work to broaden access to mathematics and/or computer science, with a focus on implementation of real world research projects for undergraduate students.  A desirable contribution would be one that has to influence the community in a significant and positive way on a national scale, or has the potential do so especially engaging a wider audience, similar to the NSF’s famous goal of “boarder impacts.
    • padhu2022 Winner: Dr. Padmanabhan Seshaiyer is a Professor of Mathematical Sciences at George Mason University (GMU). He has served in multiple leadership positions including the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Director of the STEM Accelerator Program and Director of the Center for Outreach in Mathematics Professional Learning and Educational Technology at GMU and also as a former Program Director at the NSF. During the last decade, he has initiated and directed a variety of educational programs including faculty development, graduate and undergraduate research, K-12 outreach, teacher professional development, and enrichment programs to foster the interest of students and teachers in STEM at all levels. Through his work, he continues to promote equitable and inclusive opportunities in mathematics, data science and computer science education for all. He serves as an elected councilor for the Mathematics and Computer Science division of CUR and represents the division in the CUR-IDEA committee that is helping to building Culturally Responsive Mentorship Practices to Address Equity in Undergraduate Research. He currently serves as the Chair of the Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Diversity Advisory Committee that assists SIAM in addressing policy issues that arise in relationship to underrepresented groups. He also serves as the Vice Chair of the US National Academies Commission on Mathematics Instruction. In April 2019, he was selected as one of the “Figures that Matter” for his contributions to Academia and Society and was awarded an honorary doctorate by Vrije Universiteit Brussel. In 2021, he was appointed as one of the members on the STEM Advisory Board to the Governor of Virginia.