2021-2022 Announcement

The Biology Division of the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) is offering a limited number of travel grants, up to $250 each, for undergraduate students presenting original biological research results at a regional or national, discipline-specific meeting* during the fiscal year 2021-2022. Award recipients are required to acknowledge CUR for support of their travel in their talk or poster, to complete a short online survey about their meeting experience, and to submit a PDF file of their poster. Students from all diverse backgrounds and perspectives are encouraged to apply.

Eligibility Criteria:
  • Student must be an undergraduate student at either a two- or four-year institution.  If the student is a graduating fourth-year student, travel must be completed within three months of graduation.
  • Student’s mentor must be a CUR member, or the student’s home institution must be a CUR institutional member
  • Student must attend a discipline-specific meeting or a meeting focused on underrepresented populations.*
Application materials:
  • The electronic application form must be completed by a nominating faculty mentorApply here
  • Travel grants (up to $250) require confirmation of students' attendance/presentation at the meeting.
Selection Criteria: Travel award recipients will be chosen based on the scholarly merit of their abstract, which should include:
  • A sentence that clearly states the study’s objective (unless included in the title)
  • A brief statement of methods (if pertinent)
  • A summary of the results
  • A statement of conclusions (it is not acceptable to state "the results will be discussed")
  • A statement of significance
Deadline: Applications must be received by 5:00 PM ET, Monday, February 28, 2022, for meetings held between February 14 and June 15, 2022.**  Applicants will be notified four to six weeks following the application deadline.
Questions: Please contact Dr. Joan Petersen.
*Should you have questions about whether your meeting meets the requirements of the Biology Student Travel Awards (STA) Committee, please contact Dr. Joan Petersen