The Council on Undergraduate Research has partnered with the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation (BGSF) Program (hereafter Goldwater Scholars Program) to present the CUR-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor Award, which recognizes faculty mentors who conduct their research in a science, technology, engineering, or mathematics (STEM) discipline, as defined by the Goldwater Scholars program.  Mentors must have mentored a minimum of three Goldwater Scholars during their career.

Awardees receive:

  • The honor of being recognized as a CUR-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor
  • The awardee will also engage in a virtual conversation hosted by CUR
  • In addition, $5000 will be awarded to the recipient’s institution and dedicated to support of the faculty mentor’s research program and/or current undergraduate researchers

Congratulations to the 2021 CUR-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor Award Recipient!
Dominick J. Casadonte Jr., Minnie Stevens Piper Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, has been selected as the 2021 Council on Undergraduate Research-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor Awardee.The award consists of a plaque and $5,000 for the awardee’s research program and/or undergraduate researchers. Read the press release.


For questions or additional information about the CUR-Goldwater Scholars Faculty Mentor awards, please contact Lindsay Currie.