Meet the Scholarship and Practice of Undergraduate Research Editorial Board

Mabrouk-caption1SMALLEditor-in-Chief: Patricia Ann Mabrouk
College of Science, Northeastern University

Dr. Patricia Ann Mabrouk, SPUR editor-in-chief, is professor of chemistry and chemical biology at Northeastern University in Boston. She earned her AB in chemistry and mathematics from Wellesley College and her PhD in physical chemistry from MIT. Dr. Mabrouk held an NIH postdoctoral fellowship at Stanford University before she joined Northeastern University, where her administrative roles have included co-director of undergraduate research and associate dean for academic affairs and faculty affairs for the College of Science. Her research interests encompass pedagogy of undergraduate research, research ethics, active learning methods, mentoring, and green chemistry. Dr. Mabrouk has mentored more than 125 undergraduates and high school students.  She served as the editor for two ACS Symposium series volumes and has authored 55 peer-reviewed publications of which 17 were coauthored with undergraduate and high school mentees. Dr. Mabrouk was an associate editor for the Analytical Sciences Digital Library and an Editorial Board member for the Journal of Excellence in College Teaching. For SPUR, she has served as the divisional editor for chemistry and editor of the SPUR volume 4 content on the theme “Undergraduate Research during Times of Disruption.”

Issue Editor: Lisa Gates
Associate Dean for Fellowships and Research
Middlebury College
Feature Editor: Nicholas J. Rowland
Book Review
Division of Education, Human Development,
and Social Sciences

Penn State Altoona
Feature Editor: Rachel Spronken-Smith
International Perspectives
Graduate Research School
University of Otago
Feature Editor: Helen Walkington
International Perspectives
Department of Social Sciences
Oxford Brookes University
Michelle Hayford
Divisional Editor: Arts & Humanities
Department of Theatre
University of Dayton
Marilyn Hart
Divisional Editor: At-Large
Department of Biological Sciences
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Kristin Picardo
Divisional Editor: Biology
Biology Department
St. John Fisher College
Rebecca M. Jones
Divisional Editor: Chemistry
College of Science
George Mason University
Kymberly Harris
Divisional Editor: Education
Department of Teaching and Learning
Georgia Southern University
Aaron R. Sakulich
Divisional Editor: Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Claire McLeod
Divisional Editor: Geosciences
Department of Geology and Environmental Earth Science
Miami University of Ohio
Niharika Nath
Divisional Editor: Health Sciences
Life Sciences Department
New York Institute of Technology - Old Westbury
Andrea Tartaro
Divisional Editor: Mathematics and Computer Sciences
Department of Computer Science
Furman University
Hasitha Mahabaduge
Divisional Editor: Physics and Astronomy
Department of Chemistry, Physics and Astronomy
Georgia College & State University
Jennifer G. Coleman
Divisional Editor: Psychology
Professor of Psychology
Western New Mexico University
Julio Rivera
Divisional Editor: Social Sciences
School of Business
Carroll University
Dana Jackson-Hardwick
Divisional Editor: Undergraduate Research Programs
Assistant Director, Office of High-Impact Practices
University of Central Oklahoma