Review Candidates for 2018 NVC Elections


CUR's Constitution & By-Laws encourages contested elections for CUR officers.  One element of this process involves a Nominations Vetting Committee (NVC) to review nominations, approve candidates, and develop a slate of candidates for each open officer position.  In addition, the NVC will play an important role in vetting candidates for Council and General Representatives to the Executive Board.  The NVC will consist of the Nominations Chair, the Immediate Past-President, and five additional members elected by the General Council.  The five additional members serve staggered three-year terms.  Given CUR's commitment to diversity, we encourage consideration of individual, disciplinary, and institutional diversity on the Nominations Vetting Committee in order to bring a broad perspective to review officer candidates. 

The current members of the Nominations Vetting Committee are: Anne Boettcher (Immediate Past President), Katherine Kipp (Chair of the Nominations Committee), Karen Lee (Biology), and Linda Blockus (Undergraduate Research Programs).

Each division that is not already represented may put forth a candidate.  Eight divisions have chosen to put forth candidates this year. Three individuals will be elected.  The individual with the highest number of votes will be elected to a three-year term ending in June 2021.  The individual with the second-highest number of votes will be elected to a two-year term ending in June 2020.  The individual with the third-highest number of votes will be elected to a one-year term ending in June 2019.

Please use the links below to view the candidate information.  Members of the CUR General Council should expect to receive an email with the ballot to vote during the week of October 1, 2018.

Michelle Hayford, Arts and Humanities
Graeme Harper, At-Large
Kraig Wheeler, Chemistry
Deborah Thompson, Education
Gustavo Vejarano, Engineering
Lydia Fox, Geosciences
Debra Hydorn, Mathematics and Computer Sciences
Chris Fuse, Physics and Astronomy


< Back to Home Page | < Back to News Page