CUR Welcomes Newly Elected Councilors

The Council on Undergraduate Research welcomes the newly elected and re-elected Councilors who serve on CUR’s General Council, the governing body for the organization. These Councilors took office on July 1, 2019, and will serve until June 30, 2022, except where otherwise noted (see list below).

As a grassroots organization, CUR relies on its Councilors to participate in the design and implementation of initiatives to achieve the organization’s goals. The numerous accomplishments of CUR are due in no small part to the commitment and talents of many individual volunteers. The dedication of CUR Councilors is essential to enhancing the vitality and effectiveness of the organization as well as advancing undergraduate research.

To learn more about the elections process, visit the Governance Elections webpage.

URPDJun2019Arts and Humanities Division
Debra Bourdeau (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)
David Garcia (Carthage College)
Maria Iacullo-Bird (Pace University)
Ian MacInnes (Albion College)
Diana McClintock (Kennesaw State University)
Cheryl Nixon (University of Massachusetts Boston)
Joe Trimmer (Ball State University)
Eugenia Oi Yan Yau (Borough of Manhattan Community College–CUNY)

At-Large Division
Karen Berman (Georgia College and State University)
Sibdas Ghosh (Carlow University)
Sidney Johnston (Stetson University)
Gilles Muller (San Jose State University)
Michael Reiter (Bethune-Cookman University)
Gregory Wilson (University of Central Oklahoma)

Biology Division
Lance Barton (Austin College)
Margaret Guiney (Anoka Ramsey Community College)
Karen Lee (George Mason University)
Janet Morrison (The College of New Jersey)
Tara Phelps-Durr (Radford University)
Kristin Picardo (St. John Fisher College)
Irene Reed (University of Saint Joseph)
Michael Wolyniak (Hampden-Sydney College)

Chemistry Division
Lindsey Davis (Berry College)
Amy Deveau (University of New England)
Rebecca Jones (George Mason University)
William Polik (Hope College)
Codrina Popescu (University of St. Thomas)
Joseph Reczek (Denison University)
Nicole Snyder (Davidson College)
Eileen Spain (Occidental College)

Education Division
Kadie Hayward Mullins (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)
Jennifer Manak (Rollins College)
Stacia Miller (Midwestern State University

Engineering Division
Beena Ajmera (North Dakota State University)
Heather Dillon (University of Portland)
Wade Goodridge (Utah State University)
Mingli He (Metropolitan State University of Denver)
Sophie Pierszalowski (Oregon State University)
Shelley Pressley (Washington State University)
Ashok Vaseashta (New Jersey City University)

Geosciences Division
Michael Guidry (University of Hawai’i at Mānoa)
Jeffrey Marshall (California State Polytechnic University–Pomona)
Claire MacLeod (Miami University)
Suresh Muthukrishnan (Furman University)

Health Sciences Division
Heather Evans Anderson (Stetson University)
June Levitt (Texas Woman’s University)
Kelly Massey (Georgia College and State University)
Niharika Nath (New York Institute of Technology–Old Westbury)
Linda Rider (University of Central Oklahoma)

Mathematics and Computer Sciences Division
Zachary Abernathy (Winthrop University)
Debra Hydorn (University of Mary Washington)
M. Anthony Kapolka (Wilkes University)
Manda Riehl (Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology)
Padmanabhan Seshaiyer (George Mason University)
Katharine Shultis (Gonzaga University)
Timothy Smith (Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University)
Brandy Wiegers (Central Washington University)
Yunus Zeytuncu (University of Michigan–Dearborn) *Through June 30, 2021

Physics and Astronomy Division
Maria Bautista (Kapi’olani Community College)
Mark Biermann (Valparaiso University)
Derek Buzasi (Florida Gulf Coast University)
Beth Cunningham (American Association of Physics Teachers)
Jason Deibel (Wright State University–Main Campus)
Brian Murphy (American Astronomical Society)
Chitra Solomonson (Green River College)
Richard Thompson (Cabrini University)

Psychology Division
Joanne D. Altman (High Point University)
Alisha Epps (Whitworth University)
Karen Gunther (Wabash College)
Sarah Johnson (Moravian College)
Elizabeth Nawrot (Minnesota State University, Moorhead)
Bryan Raudenbush (Wheeling Jesuit University)

Social Sciences Division
Leslie Cecil (Stephen F. Austin State University)
Mario Gonzalez-Fuentes (Trinity University, TX)
Andrea Karkowski (Capital University)
Femi Odebiyi (LCC International University, Lithuania)
Elizabeth Perry-Sizemore (Randolph College)
Geoffrey Peterson (University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire)
Jeanetta Sims (University of Central Oklahoma)

Undergraduate Research Programs Division
Julie Dresen (Concordia University Wisconsin) *Through June 30, 2020
Charles Gunnels (Florida Gulf Coast University)
Heather Haeger (California State University, Monterey Bay)
Dana Jackson-Hardwick (University of Central Oklahoma)
Kara Loy (Thompson Rivers University, Canada)
Vanessa McRae (Franklin College of Indiana)
Jessica Salvador (University of Washington)
Juliane Soukup (Creighton University)
Tina Zecher (Northern Arizona University)


< Back to Home Page | < Back to News Page